What do you know about the sand ceremony?

Team Lifeview

Disclaimer: Our articles may contain sponsored content. It doesn't cost you anything but keeps this blog going. Info here :-)

What do you know about the sand ceremony?

Let's find out today, sand ceremony. A secular style of ceremony that is a sensation both for its simplicity and its symbolism. Do you want to try a unique experience highlighting romanticism and originality for your wedding? Complete the traditional exchange of rings with this. Take a look at our info and tips to enhance your D-Day.

The origin of the sand ritual?

As far as I know, this is a tradition of Hawaiian origin. It has been going on for decades or maybe even longer.

In this part of the world it is not uncommon for a wedding ceremony to take place on the shores of beaches. A magnificent setting where there is no lack of sand, you might think ?! But as you will see below it is not just a simple choice.

This increasingly popular ritual is beginning to spread across the world. In coastal regions of course but also in more urban areas during unions of couples wishing to respect a family tradition, in search of exoticism or for the deep meaning of this rite.

What is the meaning of this ritual?

The hidden meaning of this ritual is to merge the differences between the two people and mix their personality and custom to form one. Indeed, despite the differences, texture color etc ... once mixed the sands can no longer be separated. This represents the commitment that the spouses are ready to undertake, namely to unite and thus form a new entity, a new family ...

On the other hand, this ritual is a symbol of respect for the diversity of each individual, because by pouring the sands into the container, they mix, on the other hand, it each keeps their initial color. These Hawaiian customs demonstrate that the commitment and union of the bride and groom and their children, if they have any, should not go against the respect for the personality and originality of each in a marriage.

The conduct of the sand ceremony

This ritual usually takes place at the time of pronouncing the vows, before the exchange of alliances. The two people and their family say their vows by pouring colored sand into the chosen container. Each individual who participates in this ritual will be represented by a particular type of sand or of a different color each. 

It can be done in two or more, depending on the choice of the bride and groom. Family members or close friends can also participate in the rite such as the children of the bride and groom if it is a recomposed marriage, or witnesses, according to their wish.

The exchange of vows, which is generally restricted to the couple, can thus be extended to more participants if desired. Personally, I really like the idea of involving children. Moreover, this ritual also lends itself to a renewal of vows. A subject that was mentioned in theone of our previous articles

There are several ways to proceed when pouring sand. Some people try to get layers of color representing periods of life or something else, and others prefer the idea that life is made of movement and unpredictable interactions. Still others try to represent something. A heart shape for example. 

After the ceremony, the bride and groom keep the common container in their home as a symbol of their union. It is quite common that it is an hourglass but it is not an obligation.

The Sand Ceremony: Discover This Rite

That will be all for this time. I hope I made you discover new things. You will soon find on the site articles on other secular ceremonial rituals as well as other subjects of course. Until then, be well. 

bookmarkbubbleearthcrossmenuchevron-down

Sharing is Caring

Help spread the word. You & #039; re awesome for doing it!

Que savez vous de la cérémonie du sable ?

Team Lifeview

Disclaimer : Nos articles peuvent contenir du contenu sponsorisé. Cela ne vous coûte rien mais permet à ce blog de perdurer. Infos ici :-)

Que savez vous de la cérémonie du sable ?

Découvrons aujourd'hui, la cérémonie du sable. Un style de cérémonie laïque qui fait sensation à la fois par sa simplicité et ses symboliques. Vous voulez tenter une expérience unique mettant en avant le romantisme et l’originalité pour votre mariage ? Complétez le traditionnel échange des anneaux avec ceci. Jetez un oeil à nos infos et conseils pour sublimer votre jour J.

L'origine du rituel de sable ?

De ce que j'en sais, il s'agit d'une tradition d’origine hawaïenne. Elle est perpétuée depuis des décennies ou peut-être même plus longtemps encore.

Dans cette partie du monde il n'est pas rare qu'une cérémonie de mariage se déroule sur des bords de plages. Un cadre magnifique où le sable ne manque pas, penserez-vous peut-être ?! Mais comme vous le verrez plu bas ce n'est pas qu'un choix de facilité.

Ce rituel de plus en plus populaire commence à se répandre à travers le monde. Dans des régions côtières bien sûr mais également dans des zones plus urbaines au cours d'unions de couples souhaitant respecter une tradition familiale, en quête d'exotisme ou pour le sens profond de ce rite.

Quel est le sens de ce rituel ?

Le sens caché de ce rituel est de fusionner les différences entre les deux personnes et de mélanger leur personnalité et leur coutume pour ne former qu’un seul. En effet, malgré les différences, de couleur de texture etc... une fois mélangé les sables ne peuvent plus être séparés. Ceci représente l’engagement que les époux sont prêts à entreprendre, à savoir s’unir et former ainsi une nouvelle entité, une nouvelle famille...

D’un autre côté, ce rituel est un symbole du respect de la diversité de chaque individu, car en versant les sables dans le récipient, ils se mélangent par contre, il garde chacun leur couleur initiale. Ces mœurs hawaïennes démontrent que l’engagement et l’union des mariés et de leurs enfants s’ils en ont ne devraient pas aller à l’encontre du respect de la personnalité et de l’originalité de chacun dans un mariage.

Le déroulement de la cérémonie du sable

Ce rituel se passe généralement, au moment de prononcer les vœux, avant l'échange des alliances. Les deux personnes et leur famille prononcent leurs vœux en versant du sable coloré dans le récipient choisi. Chaque individu qui participe à ce rituel sera représenté par un type de sable particulier ou d’une couleur différente chacune. 

Son déroulement peut se faire à deux ou à plusieurs selon le choix des mariés. Les membres de la famille ou les amis proches peuvent également participer au rite comme les enfants des mariés s’il s’agit d’un mariage recomposé, ou les témoins, en fonction de leur souhait.

L'échange de voeux qui se restreint en règle général au couple peut ainsi s'étendre à davantage de participants si on le souhaite. Pour ma part j'aime beaucoup l'idée de faire participer les enfants. D'ailleurs ce rituel ce prête également à un renouvellement de voeux. Une sujet qui était évoqué dans l'un de nos précédents articles

Il y a plusieurs façons de procéder au moment de verser le sable. Certaines personnes tentent d'obtenir des couches de couleur représentant des périodes de vie ou autre chose, et d'autres préfèrent l'idée que la vie soit faite de mouvement et d'interactions imprévisibles. D'autres encore tentent de représenter quelque chose. Une forme de cœur par exemple. 

Après la cérémonie, les mariés conservent le récipient commun au sein de leur domicile en guise de symbole de leur union. Il est assez courent qu'il s'agisse d'un sablier mais ce n'est une obligation.

La Cérémonie Du Sable : Découvrez Ce Rite

Ce sera tout pour cette fois. J'espère vous avoir faire découvrir de nouvelles choses. Vous retrouverez prochainement sur le site des articles sur d'autres rituels de cérémonie laïque ainsi que d'autres sujets naturellement. D'ici là portez vous bien. 

bookmarkbubbleearthcrossmenuchevron-down

Sharing is Caring

Help spread the word. You're awesome for doing it!